hasembond.blogg.se

Quality of lrb m14 receiver
Quality of lrb m14 receiver






quality of lrb m14 receiver

Quality of lrb m14 receiver serial#

The military Garand receiver ( not to be confused with the commercial variety receiver serial # 7,000,0000 and above) was made to mil spec which means # 8620 steel forged and heat treated to a hardness of 60 on the Rockwell scale at the US National Armory in Springfield, MA – (not the corporate armory at Springfield Armory, Inc. Parts for all MBRs are abundantly available now but, will they be should “The End Of The World As We Know It” ( TEOTWAWKI) occurs? Probably not!įurther consideration of the Garand and its’ son the M14 brings us to another controversial issue. This is significant! I have always examined mean time between failure (MTBF) for components my life depended on – the more parts the more failures-an easily understood and an important fact. Incidentally, the AR-15 has about a 119 parts (5). Both have the fewest parts of any MBR out there – 62 for the Garand and 61 for the M1A/M14. The two rifles are very comparable in weight with the M14 being around a pound lighter than the Garand (unloaded with wood stocks) but about the same when loaded. I really like it’s handling and smooth recoil. My experience with the M14/M1A is less than that with the Garand but, I have shot hundreds of rounds through this rifle on several occasions over the years. Owning one for many years I have shot the rifle and admire its’ simple design. I learned the Garand during my ROTC days and could disassemble and reassemble it quickly and do this blindfolded. Also, the Garand and the M14 are rated as the best two MBRs available today- ahead of the FAL, HK, and the AR-10 (4) ( DPMS was not rated and if their customer service rapport is any indication of their product then I can see why !) It is the Garand and the M14 (called the M1A by Springfield of Illinois) that I will discuss, compare, and from them make a selection. I know and I like them- familiarity means quite a bit. Besides, I have shot the Garand and M14 many times in the military. The AR-10 (et al) is just not rugged enough for a prolonged unsupported survival situation. 308 AR style rifles – they have too many serious negatives with the direct gas impingement system, the design complexity, and parts availability. Consequently, the FAL and HK were not considered. But, I want an American forged and assembled rifle capable of shooting an American caliber bullet. Also, DSA makes FAL type rifles which are very good as are the HK91s. 308 ( the bolt locks into the barrel chamber instead of into the receiver like the M1/ M14) and, they are very accurate.

quality of lrb m14 receiver

DPMS and Armalite make AR style rifles in the. 308/7.62 x 51 round, even the venerable M1 Garand. Many rifle designs are available using the. Murphy’s law of combat applies: INCOMING FIRE HAS THE RIGHT OF WAY (3). Party says, “Boys, give up your carbine toys for a real man’s weapon-a. Because you can kill game efficiently, shoot through large cover (12″ diameter tree), and drop the enemy well beyond 600 yards I choose a MBR that shoots the 7.62/.308/.30-06 round. My wife and daughter can shoot it comfortably but, it is more a ‘multipurpose utility’ type weapon. I own a AR-15 and I like it but, I limit it to defense and close quarters use mostly. When shot from a 20″ barreled AR-15 the round is below that impact velocity at about 150 yards and from a 16″ barrel at 75 yards.(1). The 5.56/.223 55 grain round requires 2,800 fps at impact to produce a large wound cavity.

quality of lrb m14 receiver

So, what rifle should I choose Let me start by saying that a 5.56/.223 in a AR-15 or any other light caliber rifle does not qualify as a MBR with me. I am getting along in my years but, I recognize that I may need a high power Main Battle Rifle ( MBR) in the future if significant issues surrounding our standard of living within the US remain unresolved.








Quality of lrb m14 receiver